HOME FAQ 韩国语 中国语
About Korea
About Korea   
Travel Highlights   

About Korea

About KoreaAbout Korea
Korea Introduction
The Korean Peninsula is located in North-East Asia. It is bordered by the Amnok River (Yalu River) to the northwest, separating Korea from China, and the Duman River (Tumen River) to the northeast which separates Korea from both China and Russia. The country itself is flanked by the Yellow Sea to its west and the East Sea to the east. There are several notable islands that surround the peninsula including Jejudo, Ulleungdo and Dokdo. The Korean peninsula is roughly 1,030 km (612 miles) long and 175 km (105 miles) wide at its narrowest point. Korea's total land area is 100,140 sq km, and it has a population of 48.7 million people (2009).
Because of its unique geographical location, Korea is a very valuable piece of land and an international hub of Asia.

The National Flag of Korea

The Korean flag is called "Taegeukgi" in Korean. Its design symbolizes the principles of the yin and yang in Oriental philosophy. The circle in the center of the Korean flag is divided into two equal parts. The upper red section represents the proactive cosmic forces of the yang. Conversely, the lower blue section represents the responsive cosmic forces of the yin. The two forces together embody the concepts of continual movement, balance and harmony that characterize the sphere of infinity. The circle is surrounded by four trigrams, one in each corner. Each trigram symbolizes one of the four universal elements: heaven (), earth (), fire (), and water ().

The National Anthem of Korea

Korea's national anthem is "Aegukga," which means "Love the Country." Maestro Ahn Eak-tay (1905-1965) composed new music to go with the lyrics in 1935, and the Korean Provisional Government in exile adopted it as the national anthem. In 1948 the government of the Republic of Korea officially adopted the new version as the national anthem and began to use it at all schools and official functions.

The National Flower of Korea

The national flower of Korea is the mugunghwa, rose of sharon. Every year from July to October, a profusion of mugunghwa blossoms graces the entire country. Unlike most flowers, the mugunghwa is remarkably tenacious and able to withstand both blight and insects. ‘Mugung’ word, meaning immortality, accurately reflects the enduring nature of Korean culture, and the determination and perseverance of the Korean people.

Current Money

WON is the basic unit of currency in the currency displayed.
South Korea currency notes and coins are divided into two types, bills of 1,000 won, 5,000 won, 10,000 won, and 50,000 won bills. There are four kinds of colors printed on historical figures and each unit is very easy to distinguish. 50,000 won bills at the same time as the first woman's portrait was stamped by the Korea society, attitudes toward gender equality means.
The coins currently are produced four kinds such as, 10 won, 50 won, 100 won. .


As a Geographic position, Korea is located between 33˚ and 38˚ north latitude, and 126˚ and 132˚ east longitude. Part of the East Asian monsoonal region, South Korea has a temperate climate with four distinct seasons. The movement of air masses from the Asian continent exerts greater influence on South Korea's weather than does air movement from the Pacific Ocean. It is also when the monsoon season begins so many activities are subject to the fluctuations of heavy rain. The climate of Korea is characterized by four distinct seasons: spring, summer, fall, and winter.


Korea food is composed mainly by grain flow, a balance of many different recipes to create a dish that is characterized by placing. Korean traditional meal can be classified by function, main dishes, side dishes, and dessert are divided. There are main dishes such as, Bap(Rice), Juk(Rice porridge), Guksu(Noodles) and sub dishes that are including Guk(Soup), Jjigae(Stew), Jeongol(Hot pot), Jjim(Steamed dish), Seon(Steamed or parboiled stuffed vegetables), Jorim(Braised dish), Cho(Jangwa)(Seasoned and braised seafood), Bokkeum(Stir-fried dish), Gui(Grilled dish), Jeon.Jecok(Pan-fried dish. Brochette), and so on. After eating a meal or snack, Korean used to have a desserts such as, Tteok(Rice cake), Hangwa(Korean cookies), Eumcheong(Beberages).

Administrative district

The currently, South Korea is divided into one of metropolitan city and, 8 of administrative district.

The Metropolis of Seoul
Provice("-do") : Gyeonggi-do, Gangwon-do (Gangwon-do, Korea south of the line 3.8 is an isolated incident management.), North Chungcheong do, South Chungcheong do, North Jeolla-do, South Jeolla-do, North Gyeongsangdo, South Gyeongsang-do
metropolitan city : Busan Metropolitan City , Daegu Metropolitan City , Incheon Metropolitan City , Gwangju Metropolitan City , Daejeon Metropolitan City , Ulsan Metropolitan City ,